

ARCHDIOCESE OF ST. LOUIS Office of Communications and Planning

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 9, 2016 Media Contact: Gabe Jones 314.792.7557 gabejones@archstl.org

Annual Catholic Appeal Names Chair and New Council Members for 2016

ST. LOUIS – Archbishop Robert J. Carlson and Brian Niebrugge, executive director of Stewardship and the Annual Catholic Appeal (ACA), recently announced the chair of the 2016 Annual Catholic Appeal and welcomed five new members to the ACA Council.

Mr. Christopher J. Schmidt, partner at Bryan Cave, LLP, was appointed by Archbishop Carlson as the chair for the 2016 Annual Catholic Appeal. Mr. Schmidt joined the Council in 2012 and most recently served as vice-chair. He succeeds Mr. Con McGrath who was the 2015 chair.

The new council members appointed by Archbishop Carlson are as follows:

Rev. Gerald J. Blessing, pastor, St. Paul Catholic Church, St. Paul, MO

Mr. Samuel (Fitz) Gordon, senior regional director of development at Washington University

Mrs. Lisa Mooney, parishioner, Mary, Queen of Peace Catholic Church in Webster Groves

Mr. Jon Nienas, parishioner, Holy Infant Catholic Church in Ballwin

Mrs. Mary Noetzel, parishioner, Christ the King Catholic Church in University City

The theme of the 2016 ACA is "The Courage to Love" with a fundraising goal of \$13.5 million. This spring, Catholics in nearly 200 parishes across the archdiocese will be asked to make pledges to support programs for people of all faith traditions. Spanning 10 counties and the City of St. Louis, these programs assist the homeless and hungry, fund scholarships for students in Catholic schools, and support teachers' salaries. Resources for pro-life programs, assistance for women and their babies, and family counseling are also made available through the appeal. All of the money raised each year through the Annual Catholic Appeal is distributed to these various ministries, schools, and organizations.

#CatholicSTL









