Catholic Charities of St. Louis Achieves National Accreditation

March 27, 2018
For more information contact: 
Gabe Jones
Media Relations Specialist
Phone: 314.792.7557

ST. LOUIS – Catholic Charities of St. Louis today announced that the organization has once again achieved national accreditation through the New York-based Council on Accreditation (COA). Catholic Charities of St. Louis is a federation of eight agencies: Cardinal Ritter Senior Services, St. Francis Community Services, Catholic Family Services, Good Shepherd Children & Family Services, Marygrove, Queen of Peace Center, St. Martha’s Hall, and St. Patrick Center. This is the seventh accreditation for Catholic Charities of St. Louis.

“We are proud to have earned this important validation of our performance in serving those in need,” said Theresa Ruzicka, President of Catholic Charities of St. Louis. “It took 18 months to achieve this accreditation and we are grateful for the tremendous amount of work put into this project by team members at Catholic Charities and the eight agencies.”

“Catholic Charities continues to practice and reinforce the quality standards throughout the four-year accreditation cycle,” said Gayle Shank, Chief Quality Officer of Catholic Charities of St. Louis. “We are subject to 10 administrative and management standards and 25 program standard categories - one of the most complex reviews in the nation. Our reaccreditation signifies that we are a quality driven organization, and that our policies, procedures, and processes are efficient and effective. This achievement renews our accreditation through December of 2021.”

COA accreditation is an objective, independent, and reliable process that includes demonstrated compliance with internationally-recognized best practice standards through written evidence, onsite interviews with board members, staff and clients, and stakeholder surveys. COA evaluated all aspects of Catholic Charities of St. Louis’ programs, services, management, and administration. Catholic Charities of St. Louis last went through the process of achieving accreditation in 2013.

Founded in 1977, COA is an independent, not-for-profit accreditor of the full continuum of community-based behavioral health care and social service organizations in the United States and Canada. In Missouri, 48 organizations are accredited by COA, with 19 in the St. Louis metropolitan area. For more info, visit

Catholic Charities of St. Louis has been helping people in need since 1912. Organized as a federation of eight agencies, Catholic Charities assists 136,436 people annually through 69 programs at 61 sites. Catholic Charities serves 11 counties in the St. Louis region.