About Catholic Secondary Schools

The Archdiocese of St. Louis is blessed with 26 Catholic high schools to serve the educational and religious needs of the community. The Catholic high schools provide academic programs in secular subjects, as well as formal courses in religion presenting the authentic teachings and practices of the Catholic Church. They offer opportunity for Christian witness and service, liturgical celebrations, and personal guidance for growth in faith. The diversity provided by the 27 schools afford a Catholic secondary education to students with a broad range of abilities, talents, and interests.

Catholic high schools within the Archdiocese of St. Louis are organized and operated as archdiocesan, parish, or private high schools. They currently enroll nearly 14,000 students, and are located in six of the eleven counties that comprise the Archdiocese of St. Louis.

Archdiocesan High Schools
Archdiocesan high schools are owned and operated by the Archdiocese. The administration of these schools is under the jurisdiction of the Superintendent and the Archdiocesan Board of Catholic Education establishes the policies governing these schools.

The Archdiocesan high schools are: Bishop DuBourg High School, Cardinal Ritter College Prep, Duchesne High School, Rosati-Kain High School, St. Dominic High School, St. Francis Borgia Regional High School, St. Mary's High School, St. Pius X High School, and Trinity Catholic High School. These include both coeducational and single-sex schools. Click for locations...

Parish High Schools
Parish high schools are financed and operated by individual parishes of the Archdiocese. They are a collaborative effort of the parish and the Archdiocese. Parish school boards provide input in areas of policy and they are accountable to the Superintendent for the overall operation of the school.

The parish high schools are: St. Vincent High School (Perryville) and Valle Catholic High School (Ste. Genevieve). Both of these schools are coeducational. Click for locations...

Private Catholic High Schools
Private Catholic high schools are those sponsored and operated by specific religious communities. These schools are financed through tuition, local funding, subsidies from the religious communities, and endowments. All are located in St. Louis City or County.

These schools operate under authorization of the Most Reverend Archbishop and the religious education program of these schools is under the jurisdiction of the Superintendent. Other school policies and regulations are established by each school.

All of the private Catholic schools are single-sex, with one exception. The private Catholic high schools for boys are: Chaminade College Preparatory School, Christian Brothers College High School, De Smet Jesuit High School, St. Louis Priory School, St. Louis University High School, and St. John Vianney High School. The private Catholic schools for girls are: Cor Jesu Academy, Incarnate Word Academy, Nerinx Hall High School, Notre Dame High School, St. Joseph's Academy, Ursuline Academy, Villa Duchesne and Oak Hill School, and Visitation Academy. The private co-educational Catholic high school is Barat Academy. Click for locations...

For additional information contact:

Office of Secondary Administration
Catholic Education Office
20 Archbishop May Drive
Saint Louis, MO 63119